Clock Module Request Thread last updated on 2003-05-07 20:29:28

Posted by member 22915 on 2003-04-08 02:24:54

I'm sorry if something like this has already been suggested, or already exists. I did search, and didn't find anything. If it does exist, and someone could point me in the right direction, it'd be much appreciated

I would like the ability, in some clock module, to have it put up bitmaps based around what day of the week it is.

I saw a similar suggesetion, for bitmapped fonts, but I want something that goes over bitmapped fonts.

My reason for this is that I am a student of Japanese. In the Japanese language, it is possible to represent which day of the week it is with one character. Since I would understand it, it seems only logical to me to save space, and state which day of the week it is in my clock in one character, instead of a possible 8 (Saturday).

I could see other possibilities for this, as well, for people who might want custom bitmaps for each day of the week.

I realize, though, that this is not a highly-demanded feature. And really, if I could tool-wise, and had the skills, I would just write one myself. However, I don't.

My apologies for being rude and possibly asking a redundant or stupid question. I have looked as many possible places as I could find, and there was nothing similar to what I wanted.

(Minor note: the bitmaps would be of the Japanese characters. I'm not asking for UNICODE support here)

Sorry to waste your time,
Axiem

Posted by member 333 on 2003-04-08 03:20:16 link

sounds like a good suggestion to me ;) Too bad I can't really help you with anything in the code-department, but you've at least got my support...

Posted by member 99 on 2003-04-08 05:05:59 link

You might try nornir, which won't give you bitmaps, but might give you the appropriate kanji.

Posted by member 7223 on 2003-04-08 09:29:34 link

Another way is to use rainlendar.
Another way is to compute the day (of the week) from the date.