System Tray & Favorites Thread last updated on 2004-08-26 13:46:08

Posted by member 193019 on 2004-08-17 19:46:53

Hi all!
I'm new to light step. Have been using it for the last 3 days now, and falling in love with it. I'd love to learn how to develop my own modules, and feel I will eventually get there, however I have a couple of request, questions.

I'm currently using the austerity theme that comes with LiteStep. It's the most complete theme I could find. It just needs a couple of things for me to absolutely fall in love with it.
Request #1:
I'd like to setup a hotspot to replace the one already at the bottom right of the screen. I don't use the task bar. I'd like to have my system tray pop up when the mouse hits the hot spot, and have full functionality as if the bar was enabled.

Request #2:
I've been trying to figure this out, but all I want a favorites menu to appear in my right click pop up menu allong with "litestep", "program", etc...

Questions
What code language is litestep written in. And is it safe to assume that all modules are written in same language?
Like I said, i'm going to learn all this, but need some help.

Thanks again.

Posted by member 12025 on 2004-08-17 20:18:49 link

Language: as far as the program? I think it's C++. Modules have been in various languages.
However, forget about the module coding for now. Theming does not require anything of the sort. The configuration files are plain old text files (all OTS2 themes will start out with a theme.rc in the theme's main folder). Remember that documentation is your friend, and so is LSXCommand. Also, just download other themes to mess with, as Austerity is not simple by any means.
Freedom would be a good one to start with. If you can spare the brain power and time, there is quite a bit of functionality available right now, especially with xLabel.

Posted by member 103254 on 2004-08-18 13:59:20 link