Basic themes to start building with Thread last updated on 2003-03-20 14:38:41

Posted by member 13026 on 2003-03-08 08:04:27

Hi! I am looking for some themes in which are quite simple and basic, so I can read through the entire code and understand more, and try to build stuff from it. I am currently using the newest [noir] version, and its so advanced it's hard to understand anything at all :)

I have managed to build my own popup menus and setup a hotkey for it to be displayed, but I have problems figuring out how to "show" something on the desktop. How to "display" eg. a taskbar, how to "display" a tray, using whatever modules.

Does anyone know about a theme or many themes which are well commented and easy to modify? I really love the Litestep shell and it's compability, and I would love to learn more and build my own themes. But it's hard to get started, when stuff is hard to understand. I've been a programmer for several years, and it's my full time job, but I find it hard to understand every aspect of Litestep.

In advance, thanks for all help.
Sincerely,
Jone Eide.

Posted by member 7223 on 2003-03-08 08:28:53 link

Sorry, I don't know about basic themes. I only play with my owns which are always big monsters... but if you want to build your own, I don't recommend to modify an existing one. Just start from scratch with little things:
- desktop2 or jdesk
- few hotkeys (file manager, step.rc, gfx editor,...)
- systray (no settings needed; just load the module, at first)
- popup (only the main popup definitions)

Configuring Litestep is very easy. All you have to do is to read the docs and make some tests... Optionaly, you'll need some artistic capabilities...

Posted by member 1783 on 2003-03-08 08:45:10 link

i recommend PharOe's themes :) i started with them cause their really good, but not very complicated. the code is commented and he has also a very good help system built into the themes.

Posted by member 13026 on 2003-03-08 09:48:27 link