Vertical Taskbar Thread last updated on 2003-11-13 16:03:12

Posted by member 11768 on 2003-11-13 02:13:51

I am trying to make a theme with a vertical taskbar and I can't figure out for the life of me how to do it. It appears that Taskbar3.dll has no such functionality...is there a taskbar module that allows such a thing to be created? I'd have to imagine there would be one, but in my searching, I haven't been able to find one.

Posted by member 81301 on 2003-11-13 04:22:11 link

how vertical do you want it to be?
In Darkbar by Teschio there is a task bar down the right hand side of the desktop... I think it uses tasks-0.92b from looking at the theme.rc, but I could be wrong because I'm very new to all this.
Anyway, I got Darkbar from wincustomize.org or from here, I don't remember.

Posted by member 182 on 2003-11-13 08:49:04 link

taskbar3 doesn't have a "vertical" option, but by defining many rows, and setting it very narrow, you could achieve the same effect.

Posted by member 37809 on 2003-11-13 09:57:34 link

It's possible to have vertical tasks with taskbar3 and some scripting for now, until if ever it gets fully implemented into the module itself.

The following is untested btw; you may not need to hide the taskbar when you have zero tasks if you have a border or a nonzero initial TaskbarHeight?
; step:
TaskbarHeight 4
TaskbarOnAdd !taskbaronadd
TaskbarOnDel !taskbarondel

myTaskButtonHeight 20

; script:

*script bang !taskbaronadd
*script exec !varadd tasks 1
*script gotoif ("%{tasks}" = "1") show
*script exec !TaskbarLines %{tasks}
*script exec !TaskbarGrow 0 $myTaskButtonHeight$
*script exit
*script label show
*script exec !TaskbarShow
*script ~bang

*script bang !taskbarondel
*script exec !varadd tasks -1
*script gotoif ("%{tasks}" = "0") hide
*script exec !TaskbarLines %{tasks}
*script exec !TaskbarShrink 0 -$myTaskButtonHeight$
*script exit
*script label hide
*script exec !TaskbarHide
*script ~bang