Question re. Windows color scheme Thread last updated on 2003-10-25 08:48:28

Posted by member 59491 on 2003-08-29 12:10:07

NOOB ALERT: If I get some of the terminology mixed up (such as theme vs. shell) forgive me, I'm very new to this :)

I've installed litestep and set it as my 'shell?', thus eliminating the awful start menu etc. In keeping with the color scheme of my new 'theme?' I'd like to change the colors of things like the active window title bar, etc. to get away from the standard windows XP blue. When I go into the display properties, and choose advanced, I get the following:

(screenshot at http://members.shaw.ca/kangeroospunk/desktop.jpg )

You can see how it seems like litestep attempted to change these colors to match, as shown by the lovely setup in the advanced section on the right, however you can see on the left that only some of these changes have taken effect. All I can think of is that little color scheme pull down menu on the left, which is set to default blue as a possible culprit, however the only other options in the menu are olive green and silver.

Also, I did read that note under the advanced section that states the settings my be overridden if not using the classic windows style, but am confused as some of the settings were accepted, and I've seen numerous windows XP desktops where the changes appear to have worked.

If anyone has ideas or advice, please help me out.

Thanks!

Posted by member 1 on 2003-08-29 14:15:44 link

Change "Windows and Buttons" to "Windows Classic Style" and it will change things for you.

Posted by member 59491 on 2003-08-29 15:03:34 link

Ah, but I have and it doesn't. Stubborn thing!

Posted by member 1 on 2003-08-29 16:22:31 link

so when you change colors in Classic mode the colors on the windows do not change when you apply them?

Posted by member 59491 on 2003-08-29 19:28:32 link