Making my own theme- I would like some helping hands:) Thread last updated on 2008-04-13 14:43:54

Posted by member 400852 on 2008-04-02 16:04:25

Hello everyone,

I am new to Litestep and I have already managed to learn how to install themes. I have already updated to the latest Litestep releases and modifications, but now I am seeking more. I would like to make my own themes, but I have not been able to find any helpful sources for making my own themes. I look through sample theme.rc files that I download, but they all make no sense at all. There are so many complications and .rc files that I have no idea where to start. I would like to become "pro" at this like many of you, but to do that I would REALLY need some help from everyone here on the litestep.net forums.

In this sense, for any of you reading my post, please help me out by showing me all your knowledge and from where on the internet did you exactly learn all of your Litestep skills. Don't take me as some lazy person who doesn't know how to use a search tool, because the "search" option on these forums are down, and so are the "docs." I am not a noob because I am just like any of you where when you first started litestep, a beginner looking for help. A noob is someone who doesn't even care.

The more sources and links you give me about making your own themes, the more I will thank you! Please understand that I want to learn a lot about Litestep. Thank you!

Note: I have been to
http://www.xdocs.ls-universe.info/pie.php?page=HTMAT
and that seems to be too basic. How do I advance beyond that and learn how to apply my own colors/textures or make animated taskbars, for example. Where are the "real deal" tutorials??

Posted by member 1 on 2008-04-02 20:59:26 link

Well...that is the "real deal" tutorial. Once you learn those things you apply those learnings to a new module. So take that basic theme and start replacing graphics and moving things around. Then add something new and so on and so forth.