(Probably Another) Good idea for a Litestep theme Thread last updated on 2006-07-27 12:22:16

Posted by member 330622 on 2006-06-12 20:33:28

I'm sure this comes from being really used to plain old XP, but a lot of the available LiteStep themes are really hard to navigate through. Now, I'm no LiteStep artist, but I am hoping that I could recommend someone might make a new LS theme with these ideas in mind:

1. Very minimalist, with perhaps a glass-clear (i.e. WinVista Aero) startmenu box that fades away when the mouse is not over it. Or, one that fades to nothing until the Windows Button is pressed.

2. Where the active programs are listed in a Mac OSX-style GUI menu off to the side that fades away when the mouse isn't over it.

3. Where your common programs are listed in a Mac OSX-style GUI menu off to the other side that fades away when the mouse isn't over it.

4. When you recieve notification (of a new E-mail in Thunderbird, or that downloads are complete, etc...), an enlarged image of the program icon fades in, then fades out.

5. Something that breaks down the start menu into a dynamic treebranch-style menu.

6. A theme that doesn't feel terribly uncomfortable to someone who is used to XP, provided he already hates desktop icons and is very keyboard-oriented.

Essentially, I'd like to see someone make a LS theme that is completely invisible until the mouse/keyboard activates it. Something that is entirely see-thru, with minimal interupption. Good luck to anyone who's willing to give this a shot.

Posted by member 280260 on 2006-06-13 16:09:04 link

The problem with having things hidden away on the side of the screen is that it makes things take longer to access. You have to "scrub" with the mouse to find your program, especially if you have multiple folders or files with the same icon. This is one of the big problems with the apple dock.
I also find the start menu a little clumsy to use.