Using commands with command line arguments Thread last updated on 2006-05-15 05:53:43

Posted by member 321225 on 2006-04-23 17:20:26

Hello,

(I hope I put this in the right forum, if it fits somewhere else better just move it...)

I'm still quite new to litestep, but so far I like it a lot. I'm still using the austerity (default) theme, mainly because I like the appearance a lot. Unfortunately so far I haven't been able to place commands with command line arguments in the quicklaunch (the one right to the VWM, not the real one).

Ok here it goes:
In themevars.rc you can set the SC#?Click (like SC1LClick) variables to whatever programs you want. It just stops working if you use command line arguments like (as a primitive example):
SC1RClick "$CmdPrompt$ /t:78"
I tried pretty much every imaginable variant of quotation like "'$CmdPrompt$' /T:78", $CmdPrompt$" /T:78" and so on. It also doesn't work with the 'plain' version "C:\Windows\cmd.exe /t:78"

So I had a closer look at quicklaunch_icons.rc where the command is actually assigned to the shortcut. If I manualy write the command in the Brackets like ["c:\windows\cmd.exe" /t:78] it works, but only if the quotation ends after the filename (which of course it can't when using the variable).
I can omit the quotes around the variale completely, but then it only works as long as there is no space in the path to the executable.

I even tried filling in and passing !execute ['c:\windows\cmd.exe' /t:78] but apparently those brackets can't be cascaded (once again every way to put quotes in there I tried).

I can could get it to work by writing the commends here directly and I could use a second variable like ["$SC1LClick$" $SC1LClickArgs$] but I'd really like to make it work with just 1 variable. Mostly because I've spend the better part of today trying fo figure it out, and I'd just like to know if it's possible and how.

So thank you for for your help in advance and being patient with me :D

bye
Creat