newbie - some basic questions? Thread last updated on 2005-08-25 18:06:58

Posted by member 260425 on 2005-08-21 21:22:07

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Litestep and have some basic questions, hoping someone can help me out here:

1 - I'm looking to install XDesktop to get some icons up there. It just contains a DLL. Do I put this in the root Litestep directory and reference it in some file? How do I do this?

2 - How do I change the clock from 24-hour time to 12-hour time?

3 - The theme I'm using has this annoying sound effect that plays whenever another application needs my attention, how do I disable this?

4 - And lastly, how do I remap a Winamp control button? This theme doesn't have an eject button, just a "playlist" button... quite annoying. Would like to make the playlist button open files instead.

Thanks everyone...

+++ath0
NO CARRIER

Posted by member 258027 on 2005-08-21 21:58:03 link

For the most part, you can find all of this out by looking in the help files for the modules used. (With the exception of the clock - I looked, and couldnt find it).

xDesktop's help file can be found in the zip file contained in your module archive. It will be something like this:

C:\LiteStep\modules\archive\xdesktop-1.6.5.zip

As for the sound and clock, I am at as much of a loss as you are.

The win-amp button "should" be defined in your systray .rc file. Open it with notepad and edit the !execute function. If it's not there, Im sure someone better suited will catch my blunder and help you :)

Good luck,

Amejin

Posted by member 12025 on 2005-08-21 22:26:31 link

1. http://wiki.litestep.com/Themes:Development:Uniform_Desktop
Customize it for your needs and wants.

2. Depends on the module used for the clock. I think xLabel and Label use the same formatting.

3. Find the WAV file, and delete it. If it complains, search in the config files for the WAV file's name, and remove those sttings.