weird litestep behavior Thread last updated on 2005-07-28 06:07:37

Posted by member 254812 on 2005-07-27 17:36:20

hi, i'm very new to litestep, and having a problem. i've just installed the latest version from the website, and set the shell to the default theme. after rebooting, everything seems good, i can see the new wallpaper, taskbar, and the desktop right click are all working, except that:

whenever i open a program, or an explorer window, or anything like that, they all appear off the screen on the left, so i can't actually see any of them. i have to right click on the taskbar, and choose to move the window everytime.all popup dialogs appear off the screen as well.

i was wondering if there is a way to fix this...

also, when i tried uninstalling litestep, i get an error message that i'm not allowed to uninstall it, eventhough i'm using an admin account. i've also tried with the winXP default admin account, but same error...

Posted by member 248213 on 2005-07-27 19:17:20 link

your right, this is weird Litestep behaviour.

First, you need to supply us with some info about your setup.
Which website did you get the install?
How many monitors are you using?
Have you updated your litestep core (litestep.exe) with the latest RC? or even better the xStep version over at ls-universe.info?

Posted by member 254812 on 2005-07-27 21:22:52 link

hi fractaldesign, thanks for the quick reply.

i first got the installer from http://beyondconvention.net/ohussain/lsinstaller/
and that didn't work, so i got the installer by omar from here, then updated to the latest LS build (again from this site), but i still get the exact same behavior.
i only use 1 monitor, on a nvidia gf4.

i havn't tried the xStep version that you mention... should I? from what i can tell, the installer+updates seem to be working fine for others...

Posted by member 212670 on 2005-07-27 21:33:50 link