!n00b! xDesktop install Thread last updated on 2004-08-16 20:14:41

Posted by member 192121 on 2004-08-16 18:51:59

I'm new to litestep, and wondered if some kind soul could answer my likely stupid questions.

I wanted desktop icons in litestep, so I read through some articles, and found that icondesk or xDesktop should do the trick. So I downloaded xDesktop, and read the instructions:
---------
This simulation of the explorer desktop is up to 95% identical to Explorer Desktop! Just
set the following Three Lines and you're having your OldStyle Explorer Desktop =)

xDesktopAutoCreate
xDesktopConfigFile "$ConfigDir$yourdesktopfile.rc"
include "$ConfigDir$yourdesktopfile.rc"
-----------

1) Where do I add these three lines? (step.rc? where in step.rc?)

2) Where do I put xDesktop-1.3.dll ?

3) What do I repalce 'ConfigDir' with?

4) What do I replace 'yourdesktopfile.rc' with, and do I have to create some new file?

Sorry if these questions sound dumb, I tried searching for a few days but couldn't find any n00b instructions. TIA

Posted by member 12025 on 2004-08-16 19:43:34 link

1. In a RC file of the theme, like theme.rc, or any in the Config folder. Don't be afraid--they're only text files.
2. You don't--or rather, you shouldn't.
*NetLoadModule "xDesktop-1.3" load "xDesktop-1.3.dll"
(if there is only one DLL file in the zip for it, you don't need "load "xDesktop-1.3.dll"", but I'm not sure)
3. You don't. It should automatically create that file. If not, a blank text file will do. Once it is populated, it should edit that file upon quits and recycles to save changes to the desktop items.
4. Whatever you want. You can, but I don't *think* you have to.

BTW, $ConfigDir$ will be:
"{drive letter}:\{Litestep directory}\themes\{current theme directory}\Config"
So the file in the example config could be
"C:\Litestep\themes\clearbook\config\yourdesktopfile.rc"

Posted by member 32550 on 2004-08-16 20:14:41 link