"Module downloaded but not unzipped" error solution Thread last updated on 2004-03-23 09:03:17

Posted by member 137031 on 2004-03-21 06:22:37

hey
this is my first time when dealing with litestep and related problems - i'm only using this thing for about 10hrs, and i wanted to share what i figured out
i saw some people on this forum posting about problems i've been encountering - this is imposibility of using newly downloaded themes, and "corrupted" zip files
they are not corrupted - they will unzip normally under any zip extractor, and the only thing "wrong" with them is their name...
it seems for me that installer (netloadmodule) names dll files inside zip file according to their zip name
for example if fresly downloaded module is named dummy-1.0.1b.zip and inside is dummy.dll file, then netloadmodule will rename it to dummy-1.0.1b.dll and put it in modules directory
now - let's say this module was required for certain theme - for example call it ugly1
if author of ugly1 in its theme.rc file inserted line '*netloadmodule dummy-1.0.1beta' then all what you'll get is "module downloaded but.." message from installer
changing this line to match module name will do the trick

Posted by member 99 on 2004-03-21 15:42:03 link

You get "Module downloaded, but zip was invalid." because unfortunately loose-screws sends an empty file instead of an error when you ask it for a module that it doesn't have. The zip file is, in fact, not usable. If you find one that is, it's a different file.

NLM names the dll according to the module-version string, which is usually the name of the zip, because it makes the URL nicer, but doesn't have to be. (although if you have it set to save the zip archive, it will also name the zip according to this string, and the documentation)