help regarding shortcuts/starting apps please! ;D Thread last updated on 2003-12-16 14:20:32

Posted by member 93424 on 2003-12-15 15:13:38

okay... uh.. how can i apply a bang to a shortcut. like.. i want to be able to go !cs and that to reference to c:\games\cs\cstrike\cstrike.exe. can you do this in one of the config files? please help as I am a noob to ls!

and why the apparent lack of shortcuts in.. most ls themes? surely a shortcut bar is better than clicking and going thru archaic menus ;D

ANY help would be greatly appreciated.

Corp

Posted by member 36955 on 2003-12-15 16:16:28 link

1 - probably easier than making a bang would be to put
cs c:\games\cs\cstrike\cstrike.exe

in your $personaldir$evars.rc, so then you can type $cs$ whenever you want to open it, or put "$cs$" if you want to use it in something like a shortcut.

2 - 2 reasons: shortcuts take up valuble screen space that could be better used by your open windows, and they are also actually slower than either well configured popup menus, hotkeys, hotspots, or mouse gestures, none of which take up any screen space at all.

Posted by member 1 on 2003-12-15 16:18:56 link

You could associate it to a bang with something like mzScript...or an alias to LSXCommand...or just use an evar in the step. Your call really.

Shortcuts were removed from themes basically to allow for portability. The shortcuts on your machine that you want and use differ from those I want on my machine. We did find repeating application types and were able to come up with the basic evar setup when OTS1 rolled out, but there really isn't anything else to be added. If you want to add shortcuts to your theme you can of course...just requires a little more work on your part.

Posted by member 93424 on 2003-12-15 16:36:07 link

hmm... $cs$ is still longer than !cs ;)

could i use this thing? i saw in a script.rc...

*Script bang !blah
*Script exec
*Script ~bang

could I replace with a path to an app? that would be cool ;D